Skip to content

Skincare on the slopes

07/29/2011

It’s summer and everyone is out on the beach and tanning, but here I am indoors.  I’m indoors because I’m very sun averse.  I hate being out in the sun.  It hurts when I burn and I always burn and peel.   Plus if I don’t burn and cause wrinkles now, I can forever look young!  😛  So you would think why would you go snowboarding then since you have to be out in the sun?  Good question, it’s just I love snowboarding so I’m willing to be out in the sun for hours at a time.

That doesn’t mean that I do not take necessary precautions while I’m out in the sun while on a snowboard.  If you ever see me on the slopes, I’m completely covered.  I show no bare skin while I’m on the slopes even if it’s freaking 60s on the slopes.  At Mt Hood a couple of weeks ago, I always had my face covered on the sunny and cloudy days.  This is because we’re at a higher elevation and also because the snow reflects the sunlight so it’s doubly bad for you to not protect your skin.

So for those who are sun averse and want to keep your skin from burning and ending up with a goggle tan this is what I do.

1.  Apply spf 55 Shiseido suncare sunscreen which is very water resistant.  Helps for if you do sweat.  I apply this at least 30 minutes before I hit the slopes so it has time to seep into my skin.  I keep the sunscreen in my car and I come back at least once to reapply.

2.  Wear a facemask.  I usually wear rideQi’s mask which is breathable and dries quick.  This is the mask you’ll most often see me wearing because it stays in place under my helmet.  Although on colder days I switch to a thicker fleece mask since I do not want windburn on my face (another painful thing to happen).   I’m still looking for a better fleece mask since the one I have now just is not cutting it.

3.  Wear chapstick with at least spf15.  You don’t want your lips to get chapped and burned especially since it’s so dry in the mountains.

I’m very diligent with this regimen so if you see me now or during the season you wouldn’t think I’ve been on snow for 70+ days 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. internet guy #11 permalink
    07/29/2011 3:43 PM

    Don’t forget there’s 2 major types of sunscreens. One is a chemical reactive type and the other is a barrier shield. I use the barrier shield type with titanium dioxide because I have an allergic reaction to an ingredient in the chemical sunblocks. For more reading:
    http://www.skinacea.com/sunscreen/physical-vs-chemical-sunscreen.html

  2. internet guy #11 permalink
    07/29/2011 3:44 PM

    Don’t forget there’s 2 major types of sunscreens. One is a chemical reactive type and the other is a barrier shield. I use the barrier shield type with titanium dioxide because I have an allergic reaction to an ingredient in the chemical sunblocks. For more reading:
    http://www.skinacea.com/sunscreen/physical-vs-chemical-sunscreen.html

    You use shiseido because you’re a baller! 🙂

  3. 07/29/2011 7:16 PM

    Haha I wish that were the case!

    It’s weird because shiseido is the one sunscreen where I don’t end up with some sort of reaction to it. If I’m not applying sunscreen on my face I can slather on whatever sunscreen I want, but on the face I end up with a chemical burn it seems…

Leave a Reply

