Skip to content

To the would be newbies or those thinking about it

08/18/2011
tags:

I told my non-snowboarding friend about my blog and she gave a really good suggestion about writing a post for those who have never snowboarded before and that might be interested in maybe trying it out.  So I will try my best to remember tips I learned and picked up along the way to make it easier for those who have never been to go out there and give it a try.

1.  It’s normal to feel a little fearful on your first day.  It’s something brand new you’ve never done before.   Of course if you’ve ever skated or surfed you kind of have an idea.  You’re balancing on a board that moves…on a slippery surface, but trust me it’s loads of fun once you get a hang of it.  That is why I’m hooked and go 50+ days a season even though on my first day out I fell countless times and I even had someone run into me from the back.

2. It’s normal for the first few days to be painful.  Not going to sugarcoat it.  You will fall…a lot, but you will eventually get the hang of it.  I would suggest getting a lesson from the ski school or from a patient, helpful friend.  I’ve heard of countless stories of significant others teaching and people ending up in fights or friends taking the brand new boarder to a run they have no business going on and just leaving them there.  I even encountered a skier who didn’t know how to get up on a run so I had to help her up.  My friend also helped her up since she fell again and she explained how her husband left her on the slope even though she never skied before and called him an asshole.  I can just imagine the ride home for this couple.  So for the first day choose wisely because this can make it a pleasant experience or a fun, scream filled car ride back home.

3.  Have waterproof pants.  Kinda self explanatory, but a wet butt isn’t fun any time…for any reason.  Also have waterproof gloves and goggles.  You want your hands warm and dry and you don’t want to be blinded by the sun reflecting off the snow.  Don’t forget sunscreen and lip balm with spf 15 either!  You don’t want to come home lobster red.

4. Don’t be so stiff, relax and take it slow.  You’re there to have fun.  Hopefully whoever is teaching you will take you to a mellow hill with not too many people.  If you can avoid it, learn in areas where other rides will not be coming through.  I usually let people strap one foot in and skate around a bit so they get used to the slippery feel and can stop themselves with their unstrapped foot.  I also teach them how to stop with one foot unstrapped like what you have to do when you’re getting off the lift.  After they can do that then I take them onto the most mellowest lift there is.  If you don’t know which one it is…ask!

5.  Be aware of your surroundings.  Don’t just get up and go…look around to make sure no one is on a collision course with you and make sure if you do sit down to take a rest you’re not behind something that someone coming down won’t be able to see you.  If you’re tired sit toward the sides of the run and look upward.

6.  If you have any knee pads or butt pads wear them.  I have knee pads and butt pads on all the time even though I don’t fall that often *knock on wood*, but it’s nice because they provide extra warmth while sitting down on snow.   You can also wear wrist guards too, but learn how to fall properly so you don’t extend your hand out which is how I broke my left wrist in my first season.

7.  Go out there and have fun.  You’re there to learn and try out something new 😀  Plus the day after you can show off your bruises as proud battle scars for trying out snowboarding!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

