Skip to content

Movie premieres

10/09/2011

It’s fall!  Time for movie premiere season.  I’ve had the opportunity to go to three premieres.  I live in southern California in Orange County near all of these snowboard companies.  I would have never thought there would be so many companies here, but I guess it’s a good place to be?

So I went to Thirty-two’s hq to watch Shoot the Moon and Ammo.  They had tacos (yum!) and free beer, but for the beer we had to sign up for which…we didn’t do so no free beer 😦  They had tables and chairs set up and they projected the movie onto the side of the building.  That was pretty neat since I wasn’t sure how they were going to show a movie at a warehouse.  I didn’t really enjoy Ammo, but I liked Shoot the Moon.  Also didn’t help that I was freezing cold outside so I was trying to keep warm while watching the movie.

The next day we went to Oakley’s headquarter’s to watch Good Look.  Let me say Oakley’s hq is awesome!  Their lobby area is metal plated and the building itself is huge!  Before the movie started it was open bar and free popcorn.  We hung out in the lobby and looked around and were thoroughly impressed.  If you ever get a chance to go there, go.  They announced that the movie was about to start and we went into the auditorium.  A lot of the riders were there, but I do suck at recognizing people.  I have to say I really enjoyed Good Look.  It was entertaining, the riding was good (a good mix…not all backcountry or not all urban stuff), and I was buzzed from 2 beers haha.

Oakley HQ entrance

Auditorium

The following week I was able to go to Forum’s Vacation premiere at Huntington Beach.  I was wondering how they were going to show a movie on a beach, but they brought an inflatable screen.  All the riders were there and I also saw John Jackson walking by where I was sitting which was neat.  Also got a free redbull…which was prob not a good idea since it was Wednesday night.  I liked Pat Moore’s part and it seems like Forum is going more toward urban riding from watching the movie.

The screen and we’re sitting right behind the VIP area.

In a month, there’s going to be the Art of Flight premiere in LA.  Even though I’ve finally gotten the DVD and I watched it like 3 times now in the past 5 days, I think I will still enjoy it on the big screen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

