Skip to content

Progression

02/24/2012

It’s been a while since I’ve posted something on here and I thought I should talk about progressing in snowboarding.  I love the challenge of learning a new trick, but still have that fear whenever I’m taking a new feature or trying out anything new.  Usually my friend will tell me you can do it and I’ll pass by the feature a couple of times before I attempt it.  After I attempt and succeed, I always think, wow why didn’t I try this out before?  It wasn’t as bad as I thought, but the real challenge is overcoming your fear and having confidence that you will get that feature/trick.  I’ve learned that having any kind of doubt while attempting anything new will lead to disaster.  I’ve fallen off rails/boxes because I wasn’t committed and ended up with bruises and the wind knocked out of me.  Commitment is key.

Right now for me that challenge of trying to progress are skatestyle features.  I can’t seem to ollie on from the side.  I see people do it so easily, yet it scares the crap out of me, but I really want to do it.  Most of the time I just need to try it out, even if I fail, getting the first attempt out of the way is the most difficult for me.  However, I know that when I try the first attempt, I must be committed 100%.

Progression never ends….even if you end up with a big fat bruise on your thigh 😛

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    02/24/2012 5:28 PM

    I’m taking an adult clinic this year, ten weekends of small group lessons of two hours per day. I’ve progressed a lot more by taking this clinic than I ever would have alone. Never was a big believer in taking lessons before, now I wish I’d taken the clinic last year.

    • 02/24/2012 7:06 PM

      Definitely am a fan of taking lessons. I’m signed up for Oakley Progression Session in a little under a month. A camp for women and girls.

      That’s awesome that you’re taking an adult clinic. I wish my local mtn offered that. I feel that having consistency like that is really helpful

Leave a Reply

