Skip to content

Plans for the upcoming season

09/03/2012

You may wonder how I’m able to get so many days on snow, well it’s because I’m currently a graduate student.  I will be defending this week and hopefully be actually graduating.  Either way I will become unemployed for the winter so I thought what better time to take some time off of a career and actually snowboarding to my heart’s content?
I’ve decided to move up to Mammoth Lakes for the 12/13 season.  I’ve thought of other places such as CO, Utah, Oregon, or Washington, but decided that Mammoth Lakes would be a good fit for me for several reasons.  It’s a 6 hr drive back to socal so if I ever need anything such as take part in a job interview or procuring food, I’ll be able to get it with a relatively short drive compared to the other places.  My friends will be coming up from socal so they can bring me stuff that I won’t be able to get in the town and it’ll be an easier move for me.  Also I already renewed my Mammoth pass so I wouldn’t need to spend any more extra money on a season pass if I decide to go out of state plus I don’t want to deal with changing my primary residence status.  Last Mammoth offers a bit of everything: park, pow, groomers, backcountry so I don’t think I will get bored riding the mountain all the time.  Some of the best pros live out here so if it’s good enough for them, it should be good enough for me.  Now all I need to do is find a roommate and a place to live for the winter 😀  I’m currently searching for one and hope to find a place and roommate soon.

I’ve also set up some goals for me this winter:
1. Ride switch more
2. Master all 4 180s
3. Get more comfortable with skatestyle features
and lastly the most important, to have a ton of fun 😀

What are your goals for the 12/13 season?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/04/2012 9:22 AM

    My goal is to get my presses and spins down tight. And maybe go to the park some time. My issue up to know has been that I always had very stiff boards. Now that I have a noodle, it should be fun 🙂

    • 09/04/2012 8:25 PM

      Nice! What board did you get?

      • 09/09/2012 8:32 AM

        it’s an Artifact Rocker. I brought it out on the grass the other day and it’s so easy to press out; it’s amazing!

      • 09/09/2012 3:17 PM

        That’s awesome! I can’t wait for this winter. Thanks for reading my blog btw 😀 Much appreciated

  2. 09/13/2012 6:08 PM

    Can’t wait for winter either! And no problem, just passing the time since I enjoy reading about riding haha. Best of luck in finding a roomie

  3. Will Lee permalink
    10/09/2012 3:01 PM

    oh wow, this is pretty major. It’s gonna take your riding to a whole new level. Are you planning to work on the mountain or just live up here? You’ll definite get all 1’s down by living up there. And go for the 3 before even mastering all the 1’s, its actually a lot easier to throw.

    • yukitabanana permalink*
      10/10/2012 7:31 PM

      I’m just going to be living up there. I’ve saved up over the years so that I can just ride and live off my savings for a little bit. I’m looking forward to all the progression 😀

  4. 10/30/2012 9:09 PM

    Wow! That’s pretty awesome!!! You are gonna progresss like crazy. Nothing really beats riding a lot, if you don’t push yourself to progress, the boredom of doing the same stuff WILL. That’s what happened when I was able to ride like 30 days a season.

    My goals for 12/13 is pretty similar to yours:

    1. Master all 1’s
    2. Learn to tailblock
    3. Learn 2 additional ground tricks

Leave a Reply

