Skip to content

Out for the season :(

12/17/2012

I’m out for the season.  I’m really bummed out about it because this was the season where I had no responsibilities and I thought I would get 100 days.  Unfortunately yesterday I sustained a season ending injury.  I slipped out on ice while trying to avoid people and slammed my knee into a slow sign.  When that happened I felt a ton of pain and I was just screaming in pain.  I got a tobbagen ride down to the lodge where I decided to go to the ER since I couldn’t put any weight onto my leg.  Also it was the knee and I know that knee injuries could be serious so I wanted to make sure I got proper treatment.   I hurt myself on the last run of the day trying to go back to the parking lot.  I was literally 400ft from the base when this happened and even now I’m just replaying what happened in my mind.  I could not believe the stupidity of what I did and just thinking of ways I could’ve avoided this.

I went to the ER and I got some xrays.  Turns out I have a tibial plateau fracture which is going to take 6 months to completely heal.  I can’t do any sports for 6 months.  Right now I’ve been placed in a brace and getting around on crutches, but the pain is pretty bad.  This is a lot worse than when I broke my wrist 6 seasons ago.  Luckily, the break didn’t displace any bones so I won’t need surgery and as long as pressure doesn’t build up in my knee I should be 100% back in 6 months.  I’m just really sad that this means I’ll be back to normal in June when the season is done for.

I just wish this didn’t happen and I’m sitting here just doing my normal update.  To add insult to injury, it’s snowing outside!  I should’ve known better when I was riding in the conditions of yesterday.

I’m now looking at moving back down south because there’s really no reason for me to stay in Mammoth anymore.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    12/17/2012 5:26 PM

    So sorry to hear about your injury. My son had a bad wrist fracture last January which was a six month layoff.

  2. 12/17/2012 11:48 PM

    Yuka, I heard about this in Thrive chat when you announced it yesterday. Truly, I’m bummed to hear what happened and, while you won’t be able to ride for some time, I wish you the best health in your recovery. If you can’t ride at all this season, that’s fine! We’ll all take turns riding with your petite frame on our backs! hahah! xD If there’s anything that can be done for you, you let us know! We’ll figure out a way to turn that pout into smile

    Kindest regards

Leave a Reply

