Skip to content

Packed out boots

01/14/2013

You spend a lot of time and money to find the perfect boot for your feet.  I say boots are one of the most important part of your setup since if your feet are not comfortable, you’re not going to last a long time on the hill.  I’m currently unemployed right now and I was a student before that so boots can get pretty expensive especially if you can’t find the ones that fit your feet on sale.  Usually after about 100+ days on them, I feel the boots starting to pack out and my heels begin to lift in the boots.

One way you can help to lock down your heels is to use j bars which you can buy online or you can make some on your own with some foam.  Here’s a diy for foam padding inside your boots to make them last a bit longer until your next paycheck comes in.

All you need is some foam with a sticky backing that you can buy at any arts and crafts store.  I found it in the kids crafts section for about $1 for a 8×11 piece.

Now, I lied…you also need scissors and the inner liner of your boot.  Cut the foam to where you feel the looseness and stick it on the outside of the inner liner.  Place the liner back into the boot and feel around, adding more foam as necessary.

Sorry for not having pics…the foam piece is way up in the closet and in my current condition I can’t grab it 😦

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    01/14/2013 6:26 PM

    “Spring skiing” came early this year in the Catskills. As soon as we got home I put the boots on a fan forced dryer for several hours. Will keep your tip in mind as my boots are near 100 days. My son is back in freestyle, working on 720’s, I’m taking a much tamer adult clinic.

    Hope your injury heals well, don’t push the process, you have plenty of time ahead of you for snowboarding.

  2. 05/24/2013 9:21 PM

    This design is incredible! You most certainly know how to keep a reader
    entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.

    ..HaHa!) Excellent job. I really enjoyed what you had
    to say, and more than that, how you presented it.

    Too cool!

Leave a Reply

