Skip to content

I’m such a gear whore…

09/01/2011

So this past week, I’ve managed to buy myself another snowboard and a pair of goggles.  I just couldn’t resist with the board since it was exactly what I wanted: a true twin, cambered, freestyle board.  If you’re wondering what I got, I snagged myself a 2011 capita saturnia 146…it’s so sexy.  Still trying to decide what I should name it and how to decorate it since it’s a bit bland for my tastes (pedobear with an underwear hat?).  This brings up my board count to 3…I was hoping to just stay with 2, but since the 2 I have now is reverse camber, I felt like I “needed” a camber board.  The saturnia will definitely help for pipe and the bigger jumps I want to conquer this season.  So now my quiver consists of:

10 Sierra Vspot 138

10 Roxy Ollie Pop Btx 145

11 Capita Saturnia 146

So this brings the number of boards I’ve owned up to 5.  The other 2 I had was a 09 Feelgood ES 145 and 08 Roxy Sugar Bunnies 142.  The Sugar Bunnies was my very first board and it did what it was supposed to do.  I’ve put so many scratches and managed to delam the nose a bit, but I clamped, epoxied, and covered it with stickers haha.  I don’t ride the Sugar bunnies anymore since I can’t get the stance to 22 inches.  The Feelgood ES I don’t have anymore because I just didn’t like how stiff it was.  After riding the Feelgood ES, I knew I wanted a more forgiving ride.

Goggles though were a different story.  I really needed new goggles badly since I’ve scratched up the lenses for both the goggles I had to the point it would fog up like crazy and the scratches hindered myself from seeing the snow clearly.  I got myself electric eg2.5s.

Now whenever I’m buying gear I’m just buying to replace something that has broken (mainly because as a student I can’t be buying stuff).  I’m trying my best not to buy anything anymore, but I always say that and end up buying something at the beginning of each season by justifying it somehow.  I really do need to go to gear whore anonymous…

No comments yet

Leave a comment